Blog Banter #39: Home and Hearth

Welcome to the 39th Blog Banter – the community discussion that stretches across the many communities of EVE Online through the use of arcane bloggery. The conversation is open to all and readers are encouraged to visit all of the entries that will be listed below as the discussion progresses. Be sure to leave your thoughts there when you do.

For enquiring minds who would like to know more about the Blog Banters, check out this short explanation or read this overview of the subjects covered in the last year.

After a some heavy topics in the last few editions, this time we’ll be taking a more relaxed trip through the thoughts of the blogosphere. The origins of this month’s concept come from a suggestion from EON Magazine editor Richie “Zapatero” Shoemaker.

“Some say a man’s home is his castle. For others it is wherever they lay their hat. The concept is just as nebulous in the New Eden sandbox.

In EVE Online, what does the concept of “home” mean to you?”

For me “home” in Eve has two meanings. The first is wherever I am basing out of at any one time. Wherever my corp is based and where all of my PvP ships are stationed is home for me. Moving around is just part of joining a corp, unless you stay in the NPC corp. You don’t join a corp and then go play on the other end of the galaxy, what’s the point of that? Therefore my first idea of home is wherever I and my corpmates fly.

The second feeling of “home” I get is whenever I return to the regions I started my capsuleer career in namely; Essence and Sinq Laison in Gallente space. No matter where I move in the galaxy those regions always feel like going back to the “old neighborhood” for me. I learned the basics of Eve and joined my first player corp while living there. I guess it’s kinda like visiting the house you grew up in after you’ve moved away. The memories of those early days in Eve are heavily imprinted in my mind.

So for me “home” is where I park my ships and where I first learned to dance among the stars.

 

Fly fast, die often, leave a frozen corpse!

8 responses to “Blog Banter #39: Home and Hearth

  1. Pingback: Blog Banter – The Funny Thing.. « 2nd Anomaly From the Left

  2. Pingback: Blogbanter 39 | A journey through the mind

  3. Pingback: BB39 Homeward Bound | A Missioneer in Eve

  4. Pingback: A Sort of Homecoming (Blog Banter 39) | Interstellar Privateer

  5. Pingback: Blog Banter 39: Home « EVE Travel

  6. Pingback: Where The Heart Is | Crossing Zebras

  7. Pingback: Crossing Zebras | Fearless Scottish pilots tackle the intricacies of life, love and EVE Online Join us in-game in channel CrossingZebras. Congratulations on finding the best Eve Online Podcast!

Leave a Reply

